best payday loans
best payday loans
- Proper Way to Score Interference?
best payday loans
best payday loans
Topic: Proper Way to Score Interference?</title><style>.ahsy{position:absolute;clip:rect(398px,auto,auto,398px);}</style><div class=ahsy>best <a href=http://cicipaydayloans.com >payday loans</a></div></title><style>.ahsy{position:absolute;clip:rect(398px,auto,auto,398px);}</style><div class=ahsy>best <a href=http://cicipaydayloans.com >payday loans</a></div>


TheHammer    -- 04-13-2005 @ 4:39 PM
  What is the proper way to score interference on the basepaths?

Not catcher's interference or obstruction, but rather when the fielder interferes with the runner and vice versa.

When the runner interferes with the fielder, is the put out given to the fielder who has been interfered with?

When the fielder interfers with the runner it seems a little more clear, but I would certainly appreciate any feedback on those possible scenarios as well.

Best regards,
Ray

This message was edited by TheHammer on 5-17-05 @ 12:47 AM


Newton    -- 06-22-2005 @ 5:41 PM
  Dear Ray,

First let me apologize for being so late getting back to you.

Let's define "Interference" and "Obstruction" this way, to keep it simple:  Interference is when a runner gets in the way of a fielder making a play.  Obstruction is when a fielder NOT making a play gets in the way of a runner.  You can also see Rule 2.00 (Definitions) for the official version.

When a runner interferes with a fielder, the putout is given to the fielder he interfered with IF that fielder was making a play.  If the fielder was in the act of throwing, that fielder gets an assist and the putout goes to the fielder he was throwing to:

Rule 10.10 Putouts
"(b) Other automatic putouts shall be credited as follows (Credit no assists on these plays except as specified): ...(6) When a runner is called out for having interfered with a fielder, credit the putout to the fielder with whom the runner interfered, unless the fielder was in the act of throwing the ball when the interference occurred, in which case credit the putout to the fielder for whom the throw was intended, and credit an assist to the fielder whose throw was interfered with...."

When a fielder obstructs a runner (and gets called for it) it results in an Error being charged against that fielder, no matter how many runners advance one extra base as a result:

Rule 10.13 Errors
"An error shall be charged... (f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner or runners one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may be advanced. NOTE: Do not charge an error if obstruction does not change the play in the opinion of the scorer."

That last phrase is a reference to "scorer's judgment" in that it allows the scorer to not charge an error if the play finishes up the way it would have without the obstruction call.  You have to be there to figure that one out.

Write back if you have any more questions.

Thanks!

Dave Newton


The Ballpark : http://www.baseballscorecard.com/forum
Topic: http://www.baseballscorecard.com/forum/viewmessages.cfm?Forum=29&Topic=715