|knucklrhead||-- 04-08-2005 @ 11:23 PM|
Runners on first and third with no outs and the batter hits into a 4-6-3 double play and the runner from third scores! Is this scored a sac fly with an rbi,or just an unsuccessful time at bat for the batter who hit into the double play and a fielders choice?
|MBNJ||-- 04-10-2005 @ 12:18 PM|
Its not a Sac Fly.
Theres no RBI.
Simply put: The batter is charged with an at bat, and the run scores on the putouts at first and second base.
Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a fly ball or a line drive handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield which
(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.
Do not credit a run batted in when the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse force double play.
Rule 2.00 (Definition of Terms):
FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).