|SandyCreek||-- 03-21-2005 @ 7:33 AM|
A runner is "picked off" but the ball is dropped by the defense. The runner was caught breaking from first when the throw was made, no doubt about the out if the ball is caught, but when the first baseman drops the ball it allows the runner to get back to first before he can pick it up, just under the tag.
I have been told this isn't an error, since the runner didn't advance, so the runner was an earned run when he scored on a hit later.
This actually happened twice on the same runner, once at first and once at second. The occurance at second wasn't quite a clear cut, but at first he was out by three feet.
|MBNJ||-- 03-21-2005 @ 10:41 PM|
There is no basis in the rulebook for not charging an error in this situation.
Whoever told you that it isn't an error because "the runner didn't advance" doesn't know what he or she is talking about.
Simply put, if there is a misplay that "prolongs the life of a runner", it's an error in situations such as this.
Take a look at the first sentance of Rule 10.13, and have the person giving you the bogus advice take a look at it too.