|dakern74||-- 06-25-2004 @ 3:57 PM|
In a rundown play, I know the same fielder can't get two assists when there's only one out. However, can the same fielder get one assist AND the putout? A minor-league game I was at last night had a guy put out 4-2-5-2-6-4. Does the second baseman get one of each in this case? The two rules seem to be independent of each other.
Thx for any ideas.
|MBNJ||-- 06-26-2004 @ 10:57 AM|
There is nothing in the rulebook that prohibits crediting an assist and a putout in this case. Therefore, inasmuch as the criteria for awarding an assist, and for awarding a putout are both meet in this case, it would be inappropriate not to do so.