|nyj330||-- 04-11-2004 @ 10:46 AM|
We played our first game and the starting pitching went 6 innings after giving up 2 runs. Relief pitcher #1 came in the top of the seventh and faced only 2 batters and gave up 2 singles. He was then removed for relief pitcher #2 who faced 4 batters. He gave up a triple which scored the two baserunners from RP #1,
then struck the next 3 for the save.
How do I figure out the ERA for RP #1 if he retired no one.
|MBNJ||-- 04-11-2004 @ 11:36 AM|
I THINK THIS QUOTE FROM "BASEBALL SCOREKEEPING: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO THE RULES" ANSWERS YOUR QUESTION.
One curious aspect of earned run averages lies in the fact that sometimes a pitcher will face one or more batters in a game without registering even so much as one out before he is removed from the game or the game ends. If earned runs are scored against him in that situation, application of Rule 10.22(e)’s formula yields “infinity” for that pitcher, for that game. That is to say - theoretically speaking - if the pitcher in question had continued to pitch, no outs would have ever have been registered. Therefore, runs would have continued to score against him until the end of time: An infinite number of runners would have reached home plate safely.
|nyj330||-- 04-11-2004 @ 1:16 PM|
Tks for your reply so I quess I have to put the sideways 8 as his ERA