|joemat3||-- 02-25-2004 @ 7:20 PM|
I would propose that no assist be credited to a fielder who muffs a throw while attempting to prevent a stolen base. The rule says that an assist will be credited along with an error to the person who muffs the throw and a caught stealing charged to the runner. Why give the fielder an assist?
|AtlantaBlue||-- 02-26-2004 @ 8:24 PM|
(f) When in the scorer's judgment a runner attempting to steal is safe because of a muffed throw, do not credit a stolen base. Credit an assist to the fielder who made the throw; charge an error to the fielder who muffed the throw, and charge the runner with "caught stealing."
The fielder muffing the throw does NOT get an assist. The fielder MAKING the throw gets the assist. The fielder muffing the throw gets an error.
First, you, as the scorer, must have judged that the runner would have been out except for the muffed throw. If so, then the fielder making the throw (such as the catcher on a typical stolen base) did his job, so he should get credit for an assist. If not for the muff, the runner would have been caught stealing, so he does not get a stolen base. The fielder muffing the throw gets an error.
This is the same logic of say, a ground ball to F6, who makes a good throw to 1B in time for the out, but the F3 drops the ball. Well, F6 did his job, he gets an assist. Since F3's drop allowed the batter to advance to a base at which he would have been out with ordinary defensive effort, F3 gets the error. In the book or in the computer program, the play is recorded 6E3.
Same theory on the stolen base. The catcher did his job, give him the credit he is due.
|joemat3||-- 02-27-2004 @ 12:44 PM|
OK, I misinterpreted the rule. I read "muffed throw" to mean "a bad throw". But we're talking about a fielder who mishandles a good throw. Sorry for the confusion.
|Newton||-- 03-11-2004 @ 9:49 AM|
Elsewhere in the Rules, a bad throw is referred to as a "Wild Throw" whenever it allows a runner to advance safely.