|Tigerbaseball||-- 03-17-2004 @ 11:12 AM|
I need to better understand the fielders choice rule.
Here is the situation;
With a runner on first, the batter hits a line drive or fly ball to the outfeild that is not caught. The outfielder then throws the ball to second getting the force out at second base.
Is this scored a filders choice or base hit for the batter?
|AtlantaBlue||-- 03-18-2004 @ 12:06 PM|
This is a fielder's choice, same as if the ball had been hit to the shortstop who got the lead runner at 2B.
10.06: A base hit shall not be scored in the following cases: (a) When a runner is forced out by a batted ball, or would have been forced out except for a fielding error;
The fact that the ball went to the outfield makes no difference. A runner that was on base was forced out by the actions of the batter. Fielder's Choice.
|Tigerbaseball||-- 03-18-2004 @ 1:10 PM|
Thanks for the help. I thought this was the case but recently read the fielders choice definition as; a ball hit to an infielder.